Ecstatic Saint Tone (with Inês Salpico) Valencia, Spain

inesSTAIRS

Inês Salpico is an artist from Portugal who currently lives in Barcelona, Spain. I met her at the Atlantic Center for the Arts earlier this year within their wonderful (Associate Artist) residency program. We collaborated there on a project called Neat Series. Since I was able to travel to Spain for the Transfer Lounge show at Forja ArteContemporáneo this September, Inês and I decided to spend a weekend working together again in Valencia (and seeing some of the sites). We, of course, came up with some audio content.

Inês and I visited a few churches in Valencia.

Ceiling of the Real Basilica De Nuestra Señora De Los Desamparados

Ceiling of the Real Basilica De Nuestra Señora De Los Desamparados

Looking up at the micalet (bell tower) of the cathedral in Valencia, Spain.

Looking up at the micalet (bell tower) of the cathedral in Valencia, Spain.

We became interested in the saints’ cards in the one of the church gift shops, and upon noticing that Inês looked like one of the saints, we decided to do a little photo shoot in the hotel stairwell–we’d already done an audio recording session, because I noticed that our shoes made really interesting squeaky sounds on the marble floors of the stairwell. Inês’ sandals were the best, so I spent some time recording that audio.

iSANDALScuHORIZ

santa

The following photograph I took of Inês as a saint inspired me to think about creating a ringtone.

DSC01707

I thought about the mystic saints (the saint on this card did not look like a martyr to me). And when I read that St. Thomas Aquinas experienced an ecstasy during a church service towards the end of his life that caused him to stop writing, I thought about the other audio I captured in Valencia.

My last day in the city, I captured a bit of organ music from the doorway of a church during the conclusion of a Sunday Mass. For this tone, I slowed it down, ran it backwards and then added bits of Ines’s super slowed down sandal-squeaking to the mix.

Here’s Neat Series’ Ecstatic Saint Tone. Thanks to my collaborator and dear friend Inês Salpico for her contribution to the Valencian tone bank!

Leave a comment

Filed under Locally Toned (all posts), Ringtones

Leave a Reply

