Testing the Website and Phone-In-A-Tone Line

Sebastian Dovenor and Nathan Martin

Sebastian Dovenor and Nathan Martin

Yesterday was a very exciting day for me at deeplocal.  I spent time with Sebastian and Nathan so that I could learn more about (and test out) some of the capabilities of the Locally Toned website and Phone-In-A-Tone line.

I’ll be using the website administratively to upload, sort and manage the tones that come into the project.  The public will be able to find, listen to and download tones there.  Aside from my work as a field recordist and curator, another way that tones will eventually come into the project is via a Phone-In-A-Tone line.  The public will be able to “call in” a ringtone, using their phones to record a tone (with the help of deeplocal’s programming/engineering/design know-how and server cloud).

This week, I recorded audio files of myself walking folks through the Phone-In-A-Tone line steps–and by the time I arrived at the HQ for my Friday residency session, the deeplocal team had the line established.  My voice was on the other end of the call-in line!  Weird–in a good way–I never thought I’d have my voice end up on a public art phone line.  The tests we ran yesterday helped me us to further understand how things needed to be tweaked to work more efficiently.

Sebastian did a ton of work on the website this past week.  Thanks, Sebastian!  I was blown away (once again) by the tremendous amount of expertise and fine design contributed by these gents.

We expect the Phone-In-A-Tone line to be ready in June.  The website, too, I’d guess.

Nathan Martin (CEO) Tests the Phone-In-A-Tone Line (David Evans, CTO, in Background)

Nathan Martin (CEO) Tests the Phone-In-A-Tone Line (David Evans, CTO, in Background)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

